Warning: Declaration of AMW_Related_Sub_Items_Walker::walk($elements, $max_depth) should be compatible with Walker::walk($elements, $max_depth, ...$args) in /kunden/310721_8001/web/2089366/A2089366/rebelvideo.ch/wordpress/wp-content/plugins/advanced-menu-widget/class-advanced-menu-walker.php on line 332
Sus Zwick | Rebel Video

Sus Zwick

Videogenossenschaft and VIA
Basel

Born 1950 in Fribourg. Lives and works in the Basel region. Member of the Videogenossenschaft Basel. Co-founder of VIA AudioVideoFotoKunst. Video and performance artist as part of a duo with Muda Mathis and in the band Les Reines Prochaines.

00:00 Start. 00:21: Growing up at the language frontier. 01:08: About my grandmother in Berlin. 02:23: It is important, that a woman learns a profession. 03:05: My father was a draughtsman. 03:33: As a child, I was outward-looking. 03:55: I become a teacher and study at the Uni / My first demo. 06:20: We founded a commune in Basel and an alternative kindergarten / Large discrepancies. 11:35: Joining the women’s movement. 12:25: I start to photograph / multimedia shows and women’s calendars. 13:35: 1979 – I become a mother / Foundation of the Videogenossenschaft Basel. 15:37: My relation to video technology. 16:27: My first video – Children or not, for whom to decide? 18:31: 1985 – Admission to the Video Programme by René Pulfer, Art School Basel. 19:37: Our group – Muda Mathis, Pipilotti Rist, Käthe Walser, Sus Zwick, Uri Urech, Renatus Zürcher and Omi Scheidenbauer. 22:58: The rest is a risk / Video on an environmental catastrophe in Schweizerhalle, 1986. 26:04: 1988 – Foundation of the Studio Collective VIA AudioVideoFotoKunst. 27:13: Co-production of a video sampler of the Swiss Association of Independent Video / A period of further experiments. 30:36: Band of female authors «Les Reines Prochaines» and VIA’s work up to today. 32:51: A living from art? 34:31: Credits
Commentary

Der Rest ist Risiko

Videogenossenschaft
Basel

1987, realization: Sus Zwick, 28 mins, U-matic low band, color, 7 mins (excerpts), original online: video collection Stadt in Bewegung (Swiss Social Archive and Memoriav)

Documentary about political resistance after the chemical disaster of Basel/Schweizerhalle of 1986. Political actions, hearings, art and poster interventions, protests, etc., express how anxious and voiceless the public felt at the time.

Young woman scientist at an assembly
The mania of men. The trust we have placed in the people in charge in science and politics has turned out to be life threatening. I realize that scientific statements count for nothing anymore if they are used to lie. We cannot trust in science anymore. Statistics can be used to prove anything, depending on the perspective. This hits me especially hard, because I work in science myself, I am a part of this system and participate in the unrelenting struggle for women to find their place in this system, for women with their specific viewpoints, lifestyles, and reasoning to find a legitimate place and to be given their space.

Babette

VIA
Basel

1996, Fränzi Madörin, Muda Mathis and Sus Zwick, toghether with Babette Zaugg, 15 mins, subtitles E/D, U-matic, color, 11 mins (excerpts), orginal can be ordered through www.mathiszwick.ch

A collage of images, conversations, poems, and music. Babette Zaugg talks about her experiences in a war zone. The video juxtaposes war and art, fiction and documentary, facts and fantasy.

Babette Zaugg, aid worker in a war zone
People there are extremely good at keeping it together. They are in the hospital, have lost their child or husband, the second child is without legs, but they keep going, are on the market for seven hours, trying to find something to eat. Everything is in pieces, but they flash a smile and say: I’m doing well, are you well too? And you’ve got some crap stuck in your head why you’re not feeling well, maybe the bread this morning wasn’t quite fresh anymore. I really feel like a wimp. They aren’t heroes, but they are standing on this shaky ground that they still have. And they take one step at a time. I think that’s the big difference between them and myself or the people we have here. We are always doing seventeen things at once.

calendar

Sus Zwick

Videogenossenschaft und VIA
Basel

Geboren 1950 in Fribourg. Lebt und arbeitet in der Region Basel. War Mitglied der Videogenossenschaft Basel. Mitbegründerin von VIA AudioVideoFotoKunst. Video- und Performancekünstlerin im Duo mit Muda Mathis und in der Band Les Reines Prochaines.

00:00 Start. 00:21: Aufwachsen an der Sprachgrenze. 01:08: Über meine Berliner Grossmutter. 02:23: Es ist wichtig, dass eine Frau etwas lernt. 03:05: Mein Vater war technischer Zeichner. 03:33 Als Kind war ich nach aussen orientiert. 03:54: Ich werde Lehrerin und studiere an der Uni / Meine erste Demo. 06:19: Wir gründen eine Kommune in Basel und einen alternativen Kindergarten / Die grossen Differenzen. 11:33: Eintritt in die Frauenbewegung. 12:23: Ich beginne zu fotografieren / Tonbildschauen und Frauenkalender. 13:32: 1979 – Ich werde Mutter / Gründung der Videogenossenschaft Basel. 15:33: Mein Verhältnis zur Videotechnik. 16:23: Mein erstes Video – Kinder oder keine, wer entscheidet das alleine? 18:27: 1985 – Aufnahme in die Videofachklasse von René Pulfer, Kunstgewerbeschule Basel. 19:33: Unser Jahrgang – Muda Mathis, Pipilotti Rist, Käthe Walser, Sus Zwick, Uri Urech, Renatus Zürcher und Omi Scheidenbauer. 22:54: Der Rest ist Risiko / Video über die Umweltkatastrophe von Schweizerhalle, 1986. 25:59: 1988 – Gründung der Ateliergemeinschaft VIA AudioVideoFotoKunst. 27:08: Mitherausgabe eines Videosamplers der Vereinigung Unabhängiges Video Schweiz / Eine Zeit der weiteren Experimente. 30:31: Autorinnen-Band «Les Reines Prochaines» und die Arbeit von VIA bis heute. 32:46: Leben von der Kunst? 34:26: Credits

Der Rest ist Risiko

Videogenossenschaft
Basel

1987, Realisation: Sus Zwick, 28 Min., U-Matic low band, Farbe, 7 Min. (Auszüge), Original online: Videosammlung Stadt in Bewegung (Schweiz. Sozialarchiv und Memoriav).

Dokumentation über den politischen Widerstand nach der Chemiekatastrophe von Schweizerhalle bei Basel 1986. Mit Politaktionen, Hearings, Kunst- und Plakataktionen, Demos, etc. kommt die Angst und Sprachlosigkeit der Bevölkerung zum Ausdruck.

Junge Wissenschaftlerin an einer Versammlung
Der Wahn der Männer. Das Vertrauen in die Verantwortlichen in Wissenschaft und Politik hat sich als Lebensbedrohung entpuppt. Ich stelle fest, dass wissenschaftliche Aussagen nichts mehr gelten, wenn damit gelogen wird. Man kann der Wissenschaft nicht mehr trauen. Mit Statistiken kann man alles beweisen: Es kommt auf den Standpunkt an. Das trifft mich, weil ich selber in der Wissenschaft arbeite, weil ich selber ein Teil dieses Systems bin und mitbeteiligt bin am unermüdlichen Versuch, dass auch Frauen in diesem System ihren Platz finden, dass auch Frauen mit ihren spezifischen Blickweisen, Lebensweisen und Erklärungsversuchen ihren legitimen Platz und ihren Raum haben.

Babette

VIA
Basel

1996, Fränzi Madörin, Muda Mathis und Sus Zwick, zusammen mit Babette Zaugg, 15 Min., Untertitel E/D, U-Matic, Farbe, 11 Min. (Auszüge), Original  kann bezogen werden von www.mathiszwick.ch

Eine Collage aus Bildern, Gesprächen, Gedichten und Musik. Babette Zaugg erzählt von ihren Erfahrungen als Helferin in einem Kriegsgebiet. Es ist ein Video der Gegenüberstellungen von Krieg und Kunst, Fiktion und Dokument, Tatsachen und Phantasie.

Babette Zaugg
Die Leute hier können sich extrem gut zusammennehmen. Sie sind im Spital, haben ihr Kind verloren oder ihren Mann, das zweite Kind ist ohne Beine und immer machen sie weiter, gehen wieder sieben Stunden auf den Markt, schauen, ob sie etwas zum Essen finden. Alles ist nur schlimm und sie lächeln dich strahlend an und sagen: «Mir geht es gut, geht es dir auch gut?» Und du hast irgendeinen Mist im Kopf, warum es dir gerade nicht gut geht, vielleicht weil das Brot heute Morgen nicht mehr so frisch war. Ich fühle mich wirklich wie eine Mimose. Sie sind keine Helden, aber sie stehen so auf diesem wackligen Boden, den sie noch haben. Sie machen einfach eins nach dem anderen. Ich glaube das ist ein grosser Unterschied zu mir oder zu Menschen bei uns. Wir müssen immer 17 Sachen gleichzeitig machen.

calendar