Warning: Declaration of AMW_Related_Sub_Items_Walker::walk($elements, $max_depth) should be compatible with Walker::walk($elements, $max_depth, ...$args) in /kunden/310721_8001/web/2089366/A2089366/rebelvideo.ch/wordpress/wp-content/plugins/advanced-menu-widget/class-advanced-menu-walker.php on line 332
Katharina Balmer | Rebel Video

Katharina Balmer

Container TV
Bern

Born 1953 in Grindelwald, Canton of Bern. Lives and works in Bern. Co-founder of Container TV and an active member in the early years. Today she works as a coach and therapist in Bern.

00:00 Start. 00:19: Growing up in the mountains. 03:02: The values of my mother. 04:38: The scene of Bern / I study psychology. 06:38: Overcoming academic frustration / Getting involved in video. 08:58: We wanted to document the women’s movement and make our own television. 11:09: ‘Women, it’s enough!’ questions the image of women. 12:13: Networking. 13:45: The women quit. 16:28: Film careers for women. 17:18: Credits.
Commentary

Froue – jetz längt’s

The Videohexen and Container TV
Bern

1979, 34 mins, ½ inch, black-and-white, 16 mins (excerpts), original online: video collection Stadt in Bewegung (Swiss Social Archive and Memoriav)

Documentary about the women’s movement in Switzerland in the 1970s. Street theater by feminists, portraits of feminist organizations and institutions in the form of interviews: editorial team of the magazine Emanzipation, the café Frauenzimmer in Basel, the Women’s Liberation Movement (FBB), the InFra (Information Center for Women), and the organization for the women’s cause (OFRA). Accompanied by feminist music.

A spokesperson of the InFra Bern
The InFra is an information point for women and was founded six years ago. Our first premises were on Poststrasse, and now we have a room in the Women’s Center. Around eight to ten women are participating. It’s an unpaid, non-profit counseling for pregnancy terminations, advice on gynecologists, divorce, legal advice, psychiatrists, psychologists, child-rearing, and so on. The reason most people come to us are abortions, followed by divorce, and then gynecologists, contraception, parenting advice. When they call us, we won’t offer advice over the phone. If, for example, they only want to know where to get an abortion and how much it costs, we refer them to “Help.” Because we want to talk to the people and find out if there are any other potential problems, instead of only providing information and sending them on their way.

Chorus from Nina Hagen’s song “Unbeschreiblich weiblich” (Indescribably feminine)
Why should I fulfill my women’s duty? For whom? For them? For you? For me? I don’t feel like fulfilling my duty. Not for you. Not for me. I don’t have a duty.

calendar

Katharina Balmer

Container TV
Bern

Geboren 1953 in Grindelwald, Kanton Bern. Lebt und arbeitet in Bern. War Mitbegründerin von Container TV und aktiv in den ersten Jahren. Arbeitet heute als Coach und Psychotherapeutin in Bern.

00:00 Start. 00:19: Aufgewachsen in den Bergen. 03:02: Die Werte meiner Mutter. 04:38: In der Berner Szene / Ich studiere Psychologie. 06:38: Aus dem Frust mit der Uni in die Praxis mit Video. 08:58: Wir wollten die Frauenbewegung dokumentieren und eigenes Fernsehen machen. 11:09: Das Video «Frauen – jetzt langt’s» hinterfragt Frauenbilder. 12:13: Vernetzung. 13:45: Die Frauen steigen aus. 16:28: Filmkarrieren für Frauen. 17:18: Credits.

Froue – jetz längt’s

Videohexen und Container TV
Bern

1979, 34 Min., .½ Zoll, schwarz-weiss, 16 Min. (Auszüge), Original online: Videosammlung Stadt in Bewegung (Schweiz. Sozialarchiv und Memoriav).

Dokumentarfilm über die Frauenbewegung in der Schweiz in den 1970er-Jahren. Strassentheater von Feministinnen, Porträts von feministischen Organisationen und Einrichtungen anhand von Interviews: Redaktion der Zeitschrift Emanzipation, das Café Frauenzimmer in Basel, die Frauenbefreiungsbewegung (FBB), die InFra (Informationsstelle für Frauen) und die Organisation für die Sache der Frau (OFRA). Dazu feministische Musik.

Eine Vertreterin der InFra Bern
Die InFra ist eine Informationsstelle für Frauen und besteht seit sechs Jahren. Zuerst war das Lokal an der Poststrasse und jetzt haben wir einen Raum im Frauenzentrum. Etwa acht bis zehn Frauen machen mit. Es ist eine unentgeltliche Beratung für Schwangerschaftsabbrüche, Vermittlung von Frauenärzten, Scheidungen, Rechtsberatung, Psychiater, Psychologen, Kindererziehung. Am meisten Leute kommen zu uns wegen Abtreibungen, am zweitmeisten wegen Scheidungen und nachher wegen Frauenärzten, Verhütung, Kindererziehung. Wenn sie uns anrufen, geben wir keine Auskunft am Telefon. Wenn sie zum Beispiel wegen einem Schwangerschaftsabbruch nur wissen wollen, wo und wie viel es kostet, verweisen wir sie ans «Help» weiter. Weil wir mit den Leuten reden und auch aufarbeiten wollen, wo vielleicht sonst noch Probleme vorhanden sind. Also nicht nur Auskunft geben und weiterschicken.

Refrain aus dem Song «Unbeschreiblich weiblich» von Nina Hagen
Warum soll ich meine Pflicht als Frau erfüll’n? Für wen? Für die? Für dich? Für mich? Ich hab’ keine Lust, meine Pflicht zu erfüll’n. Für dich nicht. Für mich nicht. Ich hab’ keine Pflicht.

calendar