Warning: Declaration of AMW_Related_Sub_Items_Walker::walk($elements, $max_depth) should be compatible with Walker::walk($elements, $max_depth, ...$args) in /kunden/310721_8001/web/2089366/A2089366/rebelvideo.ch/wordpress/wp-content/plugins/advanced-menu-widget/class-advanced-menu-walker.php on line 332
Johannes Gfeller | Rebel Video

Johannes Gfeller

Container TV
Bern

Born 1956 in Burgdorf, Canton of Bern. He lives in Laupen BE and works in Stuttgart. He co-founded Container TV and from 2001 established the media conservation program at Bern University of the Arts. Since 2011 professor and head of the Master’s degree program in conservation of new media and digital information at the Stuttgart State Academy of Art and Design.

00:00 Start. 00:21 Born with a screwdriver in my hand. 01:45 Interest in automatic machines. 02:50 Hippy times, a green teacher and first contact to video. 03:55 Art history, philosophy and general philology at the University of Bern / First encounters with Alex Sutter, founder member of Container TV. 05:10 Founding Container TV in 1978. 06:41 My fascination for video, to explore the medium technologically / I am the technician supporting our projects. 09:03 Meeting video art. 10:17 Hyper TV, 1982/83, a collage about TV culture / First art video funded by the Canton of Bern / Replays in Bern’s youth movement. 12:25 Movement videos / Housing shortage and other projects. 13:33 Women and men / Leaving Container TV. 15:15 Doing video art / René Pulfer and the Videowochen in the Wenkenpark Basel / History of Swiss Video Art. 17:16 Mandate by the Swiss government to preserve video art – project ‘AktiveArchive’ at Bern University of the Arts (HKB) in collaboration with the Swiss Institute for Art Research (SIK-ISEA). 18:45 Aufgaben der digitalen Archivierung, sichern und kontextualisieren. 21:15 Credits.
Commentary

Hyper-TV

Container TV
Bern

1981, realization: Alex Sutter, Johannes Gfeller, and Peter Schlosser, 46 mins, ½ inch, black-and-white and color, 14 mins (excerpts), original online: video collection Stadt in Bewegung (Swiss Social Archive and Memoriav)

Experimental video on TV culture. Fragments of TV shows, news broadcasts, feature films, TV ads, and other programs are woven into a collage and visually altered. A parody on the zeitgeist as shown on TV.

Voice-over commentary
To abandon TV won’t do, but video … Politics of the phantoms. Facelessness sits opposite you, ready to be turned into paranoia at any time. To abandon TV means putting together the menu of electronic corporations: data processing, surveillance, personal records. And the politician puts on the grimace of the star. The screen is a politics of masks, it’s an eye-eater, a battlefield of soul engineers. The eye identifies on the screen the schemes that occupy its brain.

calendar

Johannes Gfeller

Container TV
Bern

Geboren 1956 in Burgdorf, Kanton Bern. Wohnt in Laupen BE und arbeitet in Stuttgart. War Mitbegründer von Container TV und baute ab 2001 an der Hochschule der Künste Bern die Medienrestaurierung auf. Seit 2011 Professor und Leiter des Master-Studiengangs Konservierung Neuer Medien und Digitaler Information an der Staatlichen Akademie der Bildenden Künste Stuttgart.

00:00 Start. 00:21 Mit dem Schraubenzieher in der Hand auf die Welt gekommen. 01:45 Interesse an Automaten. 02:50 Hippie-Zeit, ein grüner Lehrer und erste Begegnung mit Video. 03:55 Kunstgeschichte, Philosophie und Allg. Sprachwissenschaft an der Universität Bern / Erste Begegnung mit Alex Sutter, Gründungsmitglied von Container TV. 05:10 1978 Gründung von Container TV. 06:41 Was mich an Video fasziniert / An Grenzen gehen / Das Medium technisch ausloten / Ich übernehme die Technikerrolle und begleite Projekte. 09:03 Begegnung mit Videokunst. 10:17 Hyper-TV, 1982/83, eine Collage über Fernsehkultur / Erstes vom Kanton Bern gefördertes Kunstvideo / Vorführungen in der Berner Bewegung. 12:25 Bewegungsvideos / Wohnungsnot und andere Projekte. 13:33 Frauen und Männer / Mein Ausstieg aus Container TV. 15:15 Beschäftigung mit Videokunst / René Pulfer und die Videowochen im Wenkenpark Basel / Geschichte der Schweizer Videokunst. 17:16 Auftrag vom Bund zur Erhaltung der Videokunst / AktiveArchive an der Hochschule der Künste Bern (HKB) in Zusammenarbeit mit dem Schweizerischen Institut für Kunstwissenschaft (SIK-ISEA). 18:45 Aufgaben der digitalen Archivierung – sichern und kontextualisieren. 21:15 Credits.

Hyper-TV

Container TV
Bern

1981, Realisation: Alex Sutter, Johannes Gfeller und Peter Schlosser, 46 Min., ½ Zoll, schwarz-weiss und Farbe, 14 Min. (Auszüge), Original online: Videosammlung Stadt in Bewegung (Schweiz. Sozialarchiv und Memoriav)

Experimentelles Video über Fernsehkultur. Bruchstücke von Fernsehshows, Nachrichtensendungen, Spielfilmen, Werbespots und anderen Sendungen werden collageartig ineinander gewoben und visuell verfremdet. Parodie auf den Zeitgeist, wie er am Fernseher zum Ausdruck kommt.

Kommentarstimme aus dem Off
Mit Fernsehen brechen ist nichts, aber mit Video … Politik der Phantome. Gesichtsloses sitzt dir gegenüber, jederzeit umsetzbar in Paranoia. Mit Fernsehen brechen, bedeutet die Menükarte der Elektronikkonzerne zusammenstellen: Datenverarbeitung, Überwachung, Erkennungsdienst. Und der Politiker macht die Fratze des Stars. Der Bildschirm ist eine Politik der Masken, er ist ein Augenfresser, Schlachtfeld der Seeleningenieure. Das Auge identifiziert auf dem Bildschirm genau die Schemen, die sein Gehirn besetzt halten.

calendar